Dogs and the Law
The Ohio Revised Code Section 955.01 states that dogs over 3 months of age must be licensed each year. From December 1st through January 31st dog tags are on sale for $12.00. After January 31st there is an additional $12.00 penalty fee for failure to register.
Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. and Saturday from 9:00 a.m. until noon at the Fairfield County Dog Shelter, 1715 Granville Pike (Rt #37), Lancaster. Tags are also sold at many other authorized satellite locations throughout the county from December until January 31st of each year
First, licensing is a requirement of Ohio State law and carries a $120 fine for failure to do so. Second, the license is a lost dogs ticket home. The license will identify you as the owner if the dog is lost or found running at large by the Dog Shelter. If your dog is lost with its license attached, you will be contacted by phone or certified letter to let you know the dog has been impounded and where you can retrieve it. With the license it will be held 14 days, without, it can be sold or euthanized after 3 days according to State Law. Be sure to change your address and Phone number if you have moved.
At all times The Ohio Revised Code specifies that all dogs must be either kept confined to your property or be under reasonable control at all times. Letting your dog out the door, for instance, is not normally considered reasonable control. Walking outside with your dog is.
Anywhere! As mentioned above, your dog must be confined or under reasonable control at all times. The Dog Wardens office will be enforcing the law and ticketing offenders ($120) who do not properly confine their dog. Be sure to leash your dog as a habit and as a matter of civil practice. You can be held responsible for damages which your dog causes to property or people. It is also the responsibility of the dog owner for the safety of our public service personnel, ex- mail carriers, package delivery services and meter readers, etc.
As a courtesy to others and to protect your dog. Imagine how your neighbors must feel when your dog runs through their garden, messes their yard, knocks over trash cans or bites a child. How about the farmer who has his animals killed or injured by dogs. For the dogs sake, it is also dangerous for them to run at large. Dogs are no match for vehicles on the roads. Your dogs may have fun digging in trash and garbage, but it can kill. It could accidentally eat a sharp object or purposely eat sharp bones, both of which can puncture intestines. Or the irate neighbor or farmer could kill or injure your pet. All of these things can and do happen in Fairfield County. It is the fault of the irresponsible dog owner.
DOG BITE REPORTING
Whenever a person suffers a bite by a dog, a report of all facts relating to the incident must be filed as soon as possible, to the Health Department. The dog shall be quarantined not less that 10 days from the date of the bite. No dog shall be released from quarantine until a written proof of health comes from the Health Commissioner (Fairfield County Health Department 653-4489)
IMPORTANT PHONE NUMBERS
Fairfield County Dog Shelter 652-7180
Lancaster Police Department* 687-6680
Fairfield County Sheriffs Dept* 652-7900
Fairfield County Health Dept 653-4489
*Emergency calls only