OFFICE OF COUNTY AUDITOR



County Auditor Carri L. Brown, PhD, MBA, CGFM carri.brown@fairfieldcountyohio.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Wednesday, March 27, 2024

Fairfield County Auditor Carri Brown Receives Jane Johnsen Women of Vision Award

Lancaster, Ohio – On Friday, March 22, during the Celebrate Women conference held at Ohio University in Lancaster, Dr. Carri L. Brown was awarded the Jane Johnsen Women of Vision Award for 2024.

The Jane Johnsen Women of Vision Award was established in 2013 to honor a member of the Ohio University or Fairfield County community who has made significant contributions in the advocacy and awareness of women's issues. During her 25 years as assistant professor of education at Ohio University Lancaster, Dr. Jane Johnsen was an advocate of diversity and women's issues, creating the Women in Technology and Science program and challenging and mentoring students as they worked to fulfill their academic goals.

Criteria for eligible nominees are that the nominee must be a member of the Ohio University or Fairfield County community and must have demonstrated commitment to advocating for and promoting women's issues. Dr. Candice Thomas-Maddox, a previous honoree and professor at Ohio University, announced Dr. Brown as the 2024 award honoree. Dr. Thomas-Maddox stated, "We received ten letters of support and nomination for Dr. Brown for her exceptional advocacy and dedication to the Fairfield County community."

Dr. Brown was very surprised. She stated how much she appreciated the Johnsen family, Ohio University, and Fairfield County. She also stated, "It is a great honor to receive this award with so many colleagues, coworkers, friends, and mentors present at the Celebrate Women conference." At the 2025 Celebrate Women conference, Dr. Brown will give a speech at the conference, as it has been the tradition for Jane Johnsen honorees to give a speech the following year.

This year, Rachel McCoy, the 2023 Jane Johnsen Women of Vision honoree, gave a speech about the "Feminine Genius" and her observations about the natural gifts and talents of women and how her mindset about this topic had evolved over time. A list of Jane Johnsen Award winners is provided below, following a photograph from the Celebrate Women conference.

(continued on next page)

SERVE • CONNECT • PROTECT





County Auditor Carri L. Brown, PhD, MBA, CGFM carri.brown@fairfieldcountyohio.gov



Pictured above are Jane Johnsen Women of Vision: Cadice Thomas-Maddox, Jennifer Gorsuch Walters, Angela Krile, Carri Brown, Debra Smith, Rachel McCoy, Amy Eyman, and Pam Kaylor.

Jane Johnsen Award Winners

- Jane Johnsen 2013
- Suzanne Pelletier-Capitini 2014
- Jennifer Gorsuch Walters & Margaret "Peg" Tobin 2015
- Pamela Kaylor 2016
- Debra Smith 2017
- Angela Snyder & Wendy Travis 2018
- Cathy Bitler & Candice Thomas-Maddox 2019
- Tracy Miller 2020
- Angela Krile 2021
- Laurie Lach & Amy Eyman 2022
- Rachel McCoy 2023
- Carri L. Brown 2024

If you have any questions, please contact Rachel Elsea, Communications Officer, at rachel.elsea@fairfieldcountyohio.gov.

###

Follow Your Auditor's Office On Social Media. | Intelligence | In